top of page

What Do You Know About Gray Whales?

Gray Whale

By José Eugenio Gómez Rodríguez - Own work, CC BY 3.0,

Gray whales were formerly widespread across the Northern Hemisphere, but today they can only be in the North Pacific Ocean, where two populations exist, one in the eastern and the other in the western North Pacific.

Because of their violent responses when harpooned, gray whales have acquired the moniker "devil fish." Both Pacific populations were almost wiped off by commercial whaling. In the 1930s and 1940s, international mitigation actions were established to preserve whales from over-exploitation, and that in the mid-1980s, the International Whaling Commission imposed a commercial whaling ban.

1. Baleen

The whale forages by dislodging small animals from the seabed using its nose. The baleen, the comb-like strainer of plates throughout the upper jaw, then filters these morsels. Gray whale baleen, commonly known as whalebone, is approximately 18 inches long and has a fingernail substance. Whalebone was formerly used to create corsets for women and umbrella ribs for umbrellas.<